Family Dish:The Brownes Visit the Diary Farm

This is the first of many ‘family dishes’ that I’ll share with my fellow followers and readers. If you want to know the entire scoop on our little family, it’s showcased here.  As promised, I intend to not only provide dishes from my kitchen but I’ll dish out a bit from our family life.

superfarm_logo

In an effort to get out of the house on the weekends, I’m always searching for fun, unique, and cost-effective activities that our family can partake in.  I stumbled upon the Super Farm website and as an avid animal lover (so are my kids) I thought it was fitting.

062

We knew we had arrived when the smell of cow poop became unbearable.  The staff at the farm were so friendly and welcoming.  We decided to take the kids on the hayride tour around the farm that also included feeding the animals and their small petting zoo.

058

This was our super cute 12 year old tour guide.  He was extremely knowledgeable about the inner workings of the dairy farm.  I felt a little bad about asking him a mating question, but he answered with no hesitation.

059

I should share that we don’t typically eat a lot of red meat.  I know that’s strange with my hubby being Irish and all but we prefer poultry and fish. I will make him a beef stew every once in a while :-). We also don’t drink cows milk (almond milk fanatics) in our household and try to steer clear from too much diary, besides cheese and yogurt (I can’t live w/o cheese).

059

I was a little sad about a typical cow’s lifespan at a dairy farm and what they go through on a day-to-day basis.  We learned that they get milked around the clock.  There were 2,500 cows and they each get milked three times a day.  Each cow produces about 15 gallons of milk each day for the dairy farm.

063

We also learned that brown jersey cows are typically milked for ice cream.  Okay, here comes the sad part. These poor cows are segregated and those that give birth only get to spend five hours with their baby before it’s whisked away. The babies are held in individual moo-tells, that have a small fenced play area. They don’t get to mate naturally in most cases (artificial insemination is preferred), and once they reach about 12 years old they’re shipped away to be butchered for meat.  Okay, end of sad story.

055

057

My family had fun learning about cows on the tour, but had even more fun when the tour was over and they got to feed and play with the animals.

067

072

083

The pig was my favorite because I WILL OWN A PIG SOMEDAY 🙂

074

The farm provided all of the family’s with fresh ice cream or sorbet and allowed the kids to end by feeding the chickens.  I should probably also mention that it was at least 110 degrees outside, so we were pooped by the end and loaded the kids in the car to go out for a family lunch.

092

I had to throw this one in there and you’re probably wondering why I’m not in any of the photos.  Well, I’m 31 weeks pregnant tomorrow and you will likely not catch me on the other side of the lens until I pop this baby out, lol. But I do have to end with saying how awesome my hubby is.  This pregnancy has not been easy, and having two kids on top of it can be stressful at times but he’s always there to comfort me.  I hope you enjoyed our first ‘family dish’. Be well.

Leave a Reply

