Hummus Crusted Chicken Recipe

I had to take a short break from cooking due to our amazing annual conference, Party Palooza 2015 in Minneapolis, MN. I arrived home yesterday, and luckily I prepared this little treasure as a freezer meal, anticipating how exhausted I’d be when I arrived home from my five-day trip. I have to give a shout out to my hubby for holding down the fort while I was away and making sure it was ready to cook when I arrived home.

pp

11232225_10206139458141235_8791434802890262533_n

The Tastefully Simple product used in this recipe was the Red Bell Pepper Hummus Mix.

beans

The hummus was very simple to make.  All you need is a can of garbanzo beans (you can use fresh, but I was in a hurry), Red Bell Pepper Hummus Mix and Olive Oil.

h

I saved 1/3 of the liquid from my can of beans to add to the garbanzo beans, along with the Red Bell Pepper Hummus Mix and 1/4 cup of olive oil.

d

You don’t have to blend it, you can place it in a resealable bag and mash it up but I chose to blend the ingredients.

b

I had a huge bag of frozen veggies (California blend), so I used a small amount of those veggies for this recipe.

l

I pre-seasoned my chicken in preparation for the meal and stored in the freezer for later. I greased my baking pan before layering the veggies on the bottom.

i

Next, I added the seasoned chicken on top and spread the hummus all over the chicken.  Lastly, I topped it with a little paprika and covered it with aluminum foil.  Into the oven it went!

I cooked it for 30 minutes (covered) and took it out to uncover it before cooking for an extra 25 minutes.  The final product was a really juicy, yet crispy chicken tender with veggies.  The flavor was absolutely amazing, even though mine didn’t crust as much as the photos I’ve seen.

asa asas

You can get the full recipe here.  This was my hubby’s favorite dish so far. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

